You are here

Viable chi square p values for ACE model comparison

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
rebecca.barron's picture
Viable chi square p values for ACE model comparison

Hi there,

I'm very new to OpenMx and working with twin data (OpenMx version: 2.5.2 [GIT v2.5.2] R version: R version 3.2.4 Revised (2016-03-16 r70336) Platform: x86_64-w64-mingw32 Default optimiser: SLSQP).

I created a script based on online resources from this site, where I want to run saturated, ACE and submodels, controlling for age and gender.

As far as I can tell, the script is running, with no warnings/ errors. However, I am getting p values of 0 for the Chi square difference test for the ACE model compared to saturated. I am wondering if this is alright/ presentable?

When comparing submodels for the best fit, do we compare to saturated or to the ACE model? when comparing nested submodels to ACE, I am getting values of 1 and 0.

I am working with small numbers (45 MZ and 24 DZ pairs), and raw data (not normalised), would this be an issue?

I would just like someone to check over the script, so I can confidently present my results!

I've attached a script and an output for my BMI data.

Appreciate any help/ tips you can give! :)

Rebecca

AdminRobK's picture
your script

I did not look at your script very closely, but something weird seems to be going on with the way you're using definition variables. It looks like all your twin pairs have the same age and sex, so it doesn't make much difference to your results. But, if that weren't the case, it WOULD matter, and further, I think the estimates you're getting of the regression coefficients are one half what they should be. The syntax

mxMatrix(type="Full",nrow=2,ncol=2,free=F,label=c("data.Age1", "data.Age2"), name="Age")

creates a 2x2 MxMatrix with the following labels matrix,

$labels
     [,1]        [,2]       
[1,] "data.Age1" "data.Age1"
[2,] "data.Age2" "data.Age2"