You are here

Restricted Model Cholesky; how to drop/fix parameters?

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Lux Whitehaven's picture
Restricted Model Cholesky; how to drop/fix parameters?

Hello everyone,

I'm a graduate student currently learning OpenMX, and I am unfortunately still a novice at OpenMX and genetic modeling in general. I've so far successfully run multivariate Cholesky analyses with OpenMX in R studio, and gotten interpretable data.

However, I am now trying to drop parameters on my current Cholesky model, to get a "best fit" reduced model for my data. I am having trouble understanding how I might do this; I understand it would involve fixing certain parameters at zero, but given my code, I am completely at a loss as to how I might go about this.

If anyone has the time, would they be able to help me understand how? Or, alternatively, point me in the direction of a Cholesky model code that could easily fix parameters? My thanks; my code is shown below.

nvar <- 4 # number of variables
tnvar <-8 # number of variablesmax family size
nlower <-tnvar
(tnvar+1)/2 # number of free elements in a lower matrix tnvar*tnvar
Vars <- c("v1","v2","v3","v4")
selVars <- paste(Vars,c(rep(1,nvar),rep(2,nvar)),sep="")

This yields a list of the 6 variables for analysis

v11 v21 v31 v41 v12 v22 v32 v42

mzData <- as.matrix(subset(twindata, zygosity==1, selVars))
dzData <- as.matrix(subset(twindata, zygosity==2, selVars))

Print Descriptive Statistics

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

summary(mzData)
summary(dzData)

Fit Multivariate ACE Model with RawData and Matrices Input

ACE_Cholesky_Model <- mxModel("ACE_Cholesky",
mxModel("ACE",

Matrices a, c, and e to store a, c, and e path coefficients

mxMatrix( type="Lower", nrow=nvar, ncol=nvar, free=TRUE, values=.6, name="a" ),
mxMatrix( type="Lower", nrow=nvar, ncol=nvar, free=TRUE, values=.6, name="c" ),
mxMatrix( type="Lower", nrow=nvar, ncol=nvar, free=TRUE, values=.6, name="e" ),