You are here

Adding covariates to Twin Ace model

38 posts / 0 new
Last post
Sabha's picture
Adding covariates to Twin Ace model

Hi ,

I am new to Twin data analysis and would like to get help on how to adjust for covariates ( Age and Gender) in TWIN ACE model to estimate the genetic and environmental variance from the total molecular phenotypic variance . What modifications are needed in the script UnivariateTwinAnalysis_MatrixRaw.R for age and gender adjusted estimation of A, C and E .

Any insight would be of great help.

Sanchita

trinewa's picture
I have the same question.

I have the same question. Anyone who can answer this?

neale's picture
It turns out that Hermine & I

It turns out that Hermine & I were both working on responding to this. Her script will probably be better than mine. Various pieces are available in the documentation (the ACE model script and the definition variable example script) and also with a moderated ACE model (for GxE interaction) in which the moderator was regressed out of the observed variable. To learn OpenMx scripting it would be a GREAT exercise for to try to work from these basic scripts and modify them yourself. There are a few bits and pieces that may not be immediately obvious, of which the most significant is that the algebra for computing the moderated means must appear in the mxModel()s that contain the data and the mxFIMLObjective() function calls.

Anyway, to get you going, let's step through it. Suppose we start with the ACE Model in matrix specification from the OpenMx documentation (you may want to try modifying the path specification version as an exercise - there is no better way to learn than to try stuff out).

http://openmx.psyc.virginia.edu/docs/OpenMx/latest/GeneticEpi_Matrix.html#ace-model-a-twin-analysis

I altered it up a bit to make it a bit more readable (to me), attached as UnivariateTwinAnalysisModeratedMatrix-1.R

The remaining modifications are: