You are here

Constrain correlation matrices

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
GRBS's picture
Constrain correlation matrices

I have fit two saturated models and have created correlation matrices from the expected covariance matrices using the cov2cor function. I would like to constrain the correlation matrices to equality between these models without constraining the covariance matrices.

I have tried adding a mxConstraint object to the combined model but I get errors and I am not able to constrain them by equating labels, as far as I can figure out. I'm just wondering if anyone has done anything like this? I'm sure I'm missing something very simple - I am brand new to all of this so the learning curve is a little steep at the moment.

Thanks!
Gretchen

RobK's picture
Correlations and SDs

Try parameterizing the covariance matrices in terms of correlations and standard deviations. Your two models would have the same correlation matrix, but different SDs. The labels for the correlations would be the same for both models, but the labels for the SDs would be different.

For example, suppose R is the correlation matrix, and D is a diagonal matrix that has the model's SDs on its diagonal. Then, the MxAlgebra D %*% R %*% D would give you the model's covariance matrix. Alternately, suppose R is the correlation matrix as before, and s is a column vector containing the model's SDs. Then, the MxAlgebra R * (s%*%t(s)) would also give you the model's covariance matrix.

Obviously, this approach doesn't produce a covariance matrix from the product of Cholesky factors, so the resulting covariance matrix could become non-positive-definite during optimization. It's therefore especially important to pick good start values.

Does this help? I could be more specific if you posted some of your script.

GRBS's picture
Hey Rob! I hear a lot about

Hey Rob! I hear a lot about you from Matt and Bridget. Thank you so much for your help!