You are here

A question about moderator variable

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
YiTan's picture
A question about moderator variable

Hi all,

I'm new to OpenMx and SEM, and I have just read through the various examples on twin modelling. Just wondering, if I have a moderator variable which varies within twin 1 and twin 2 and also across twin pairs, how do I go about specifying it as a definition variable? Or do I have to do bivariate analysis instead (treating the moderator variable as another variable?)

Thank you very much!

Cheers,
Yi

mhunter's picture
Try the User's Guide

Hi Yi,

If your question is about how to set up a model with a definition variable in general, then the User's Guide should be helpful. Here is a link to a User's Guide chapter on using definition variables. It also has related code examples linked within it.

http://openmx.psyc.virginia.edu/docs/openmx/latest/DefinitionMeans_Matrix.html

The gist is this: A definition variable takes a variable from your data set and uses it as part of the model. An example of a definition variable is using a variable as the correlation coefficient between the twins' A components in an ACE model. You can use a definition variable by referring to "data.YourVariable" in the labels of a matrix or path. You can then use that matrix or path directly or in algebras that further manipulate the variable.

If twin 1 and twin 2 have different values for the definition variable, then you'll need two definition variables: one for twin 1 and another for twin 2.

If your question is about how to set up a specific model with a definition variable, then I'd need more information on the model you're trying to fit.

Cheers,
Mike Hunter

YiTan's picture
Hi Mike, Let's say I'm

Hi Mike,